Skip to content

Brian Wilson: 1; Screen Door: 0

February 4, 2011

Image: Rob Carr - AP

In hindsight, it was a silly thing to do. I should have stayed to watch the Giants pour out of the dugout and jump all over each other and celebrate their first trip to the World Series in nearly a decade. Instead — just as Ryan Howard turned to argue halfheartedly with what was, admittedly, a borderline strike and before Brian Wilson could finish his little arms-across-the-chest-eyes-to-heaven routine — I leapt spastically from the couch, shouted something unintelligible and, for reasons that remain unclear, rushed over to the screen door and kicked it with all my joy-filled might.

There were years of frustration behind that kick: Bay Bridge Series sweeps, Fred McGriff trades, Pudge Rodriguez plate-collisions, draft picks sacrificed for Michael Tucker, Russ Ortiz game balls, Scott Spiezio home runs. Five decades-plus of pent-up rage (some of which I wasn’t even alive for). All of it, somehow, flowing through my leg, as the door broke apart and went skidding into the front yard and I followed it, screaming skyward in ebullient jubilation.

OK, so the door was pretty rusty and was due to be replaced by my landlord anyway. But still. I’d like to think that kick was a kick for Giants fans everywhere; that in some small but meaningful way it helped propel our magical band of thong-wearing, beard-dyeing, shaggy-haired, Cody Rossish misfits past the Rangers and into baseball immortality.

I know everyone has a screen door story. Some suffered longer than me, and their kicks were mightier. But we all got to have that moment, and nothing can take it away. Ever. Really, that’s why I started this blog.

I like to write and I like the Giants, but the team was always such a source of angst and heartache, I honestly didn’t feel like combining the two passions. Until now.

That’s not to say it’ll be all puppy dogs and garlic fries around here. This is still a flawed franchise. There will be cause for criticism, like when Brandon Belt is hitting the cover off the ball in Fresno and Bruce Bochy is still talking about how Pat Burrell “just needs some time to get it going.” But see? Already I can’t be too angry. Because, I mean, Pat Burrell. Without him, who knows? The Giants might not have won the 2010 World Series, which they did, in fact, do.

So: pessimism, optimism, love, hate, ecstasy, agony — and hopefully a few more busted screen doors.

Giants baseball.

Is it March yet?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Caleb permalink
    February 4, 2011 1:17 pm

    Seemed almost anticlimactic when it finally happened…in a weird way….like we were so due that this just had to be the year….like our pitching couldn’t be hit and the rest was bound to fall into place…….a very surreal post-season indeed….no screen door for me…just a lot of hooting and hollering, fist pumps and aggressive clapping! Sweet sweet John Miller to my ears!!

  2. February 4, 2011 1:56 pm

    Gribi with the first comment! FTW!

  3. February 5, 2011 11:53 pm

    Fantastic Jacob!!! I’ll be watching this space.

    P.S. I brought a copy of GQ Magazine to AT&T park today, with the hopes of getting ‘The Freak’ to sign it for you, especially for you, and I picked up a WORLD SERIES baseball for $30 I didn’t have either, with the EXACT same hope, just that with that one…I’d have settled for ANY of their sigs. But alas, it was a zoo beyond all zoos today. The temp was in the high 70’s and the skies were blue…the baseball gods were simultaneously with and against you. Yet, throughout this season, there will be efforts made, with love, to bring you just a little bit closer to home, via some cool memorabilia acquired & signed. So, when you see some USPS mail show up there, on that crazy little street in Wailuku, try not to kick down any doors!!! Peace, brotherman! TKT

Leave a Reply

