Skip to content

Barry, Between The Lines

August 7, 2012

Interesting interview with Barry Bonds over on the Giants’ official site, coinciding with the anniversary of homer number 756.

When Bonds speaks, it’s always in circles, riddles wrapped in hints wrapped in vagaries. He’s reflexively defensive and aloof, but, in this interview especially, he laces in a few lines that feel like confessions, mea culpas, windows into his tortured soul…

At times, I felt like a person caught in the middle of it…

I can go on and on and on with so many different kinds of feelings and so many different kinds of emotions. I don’t know if they’re right or wrong. You know what I mean? They are what they are…

I got a ball and I hit it, so in that way there’s nothing I would have done differently…

It gave me the push to perform. Whether you hated me or loved me, you came to see that person or that show…

I’ll admit it now that it was hard for me to deal with and I could’ve done it a lot better. That’s a lot for one individual. You’re going to snap…

When you’re just shoved out there by yourself all the time, I believe some people can do it. I was just not one of them…

[My] father and Willie were loved at one moment and then dropped off at some corner and told, “Good luck!” the next. I wasn’t willing to subject myself to that and I wasn’t willing to give them that…

I had a great 22 years. Would I have liked things to have been different? Sure, I would have loved them to be different…

Also: that guy was fucking amazing at hitting baseballs.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

